SAN FRANCISCO – Let’s start with the positive: Republicans and Democrats are working together. This time to protect same-sex marriage from the Supreme Court.

The Respect for Marriage Act codifies marriage and comes amid concerns among Democrats that the same conservative majority on the Supreme Court that struck down abortion rights will target same-sex marriage in the future.

RELATED: Senate Passes Landmark Same-Sex Marriage Protection Bill; Next comes the approval of the house

The version that overcame the filibuster in the Senate passed the Senate on Tuesday by a 61-36 vote. A dozen Republican senators from across the country voted with Democrats before Thanksgiving to limit debate and move it to a final vote.

The bill now heads to the House of Representatives for final approval before President Joe Biden can sign it into law, which he said he would do “promptly and proudly.”

Here’s a look at the group of Republican senators who voted against the bill:

  • John Barrasso (R-WY)
  • Marcia Blackburn (R-TN)
  • John Boozman (R-AR)
  • Mike Brown (R-IN)
  • Bill Cassidy (R-LA)
  • John Cornyn (R-TX)
  • Tom Cotton (R-AR)
  • Kevin Cramer (R-ND)
  • Mike Crapo (R-ID)
  • Ted Cruz (R-TX)
  • Steve Daines (R-MT)
  • Deb Fisher (R-NE)
  • Lindsey Graham (R-SC)
  • Chuck Grassley (R-IA)
  • Bill Hagerty (R-TN)
  • Josh Hawley (R-MO)
  • John Hoven (R-ND)
  • Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-MS)
  • Jim Inhofe (R-OK)
  • Ron Johnson (R-WI)
  • John F. Kennedy (R-LA)
  • James Lankford (R-OK)
  • Mike Lee (R-UT)
  • Roger Marshall (R-KS)
  • Mitch McConnell (R-KY)
  • Jerry Moran (R-KS)
  • Rand Paul (R-KY)
  • Jim Risch (R-ID)
  • Mike Rounds (R-SD)
  • Marco Rubio (R-FL)
  • Rick Scott (R-FL)
  • Tim Scott (R-SC)
  • Richard Shelby (R-AL)
  • John Thune (R-SD)
  • Tommy Tuberville (R-AL)
  • Roger Wicker (R-MS)

CNN contributed to this article.

Copyright © 2022 WABC-TV. All rights reserved.

Source link