Gov. Phil Murphy was the first governor not to run for president in 28 years, prompting Democratic County chairmen – and in some cases members of the Democratic District Committee – to award the organizational line at the 2020 New Jersey presidential primaries.

He supported his beloved son Corey Booker as president, but did not side with anyone until Bernie Sanders withdrew from the race and Joe Biden was nominated.

Recent governors have pushed party leaders to support their election in the White House.

Gov. Chris Christie delivered New Jersey Republicans Mitt Romney in 2012 and Donald Trump in 2016.

Gov. John Corzin backed Hillary Clinton in 2008, and James E. McGreevy backed Howard Dean in 2004.

The 2008 primaries took place in February – on Tuesday. Clinton won in New Jersey with a 54-44% advantage over Barack Obama. The division of delegates was 59 for Clinton and 48 for Obama.

Dean has already dropped out of the race at the primaries in New Jersey, and John Kerry took all 106 delegates and 92% of the vote.

Gov. Christine Todd Whitman supported Bob Dole in 1996 and George W. Bush in 2000.

In 1992, Gov. Jim Floria refused to support any of the Democrats running for president. Only Bill Clinton openly cared for Floria, who remained very unpopular after raising taxes by $ 2.8 billion.

Clinton won all of New Jersey’s 105 delegates as a result of defeating Jerry Brown with 61% -19%, the last candidate left at the time of the June primaries.

Gov. Tom Keane, who flirted with his presidential bid in 1988, eventually backed George W. Bush.

The presidential primaries were politically catastrophic for Governor Brendan Byrne.

The candidate approved by Byrne in 1976 won only 23 delegates at the primaries in New Jersey, with a steady list in favor of Jerry Brown or Hubert Humphrey receiving 75 delegate seats. Maurice Udal won three additional delegates.

In 1980, Ted Kennedy defeated Carter with a 56-37% advantage in the primaries in New Jersey, despite the support of President Byrne. Kennedy won 68 delegates and Carter 45.

In 1968, Governor Richard Hughes led a number of candidate organizations from the organization, which received 62 of the 82 delegates, of 19 – Eugene McCarthy.

There were no candidates on the ballot papers at the optional presidential primaries.

In a race that was decided entirely by recording votes, Eugene McCarthy defeated Robert F. Kennedy with a 38% -33% advantage – 9,906 vs. 8,603. Humphrey came in third with 5,578 votes (22%), followed by George Wallace with 1,399 votes (5%). Lyndon Johnson, who announced he would not seek re-election, received 380 votes (1%).

Hughes delivered 62 New Jersey delegates to Humphrey during the first vote.

The list of candidates for delegates, backed by Gov. Robert Meiner, won all 41 delegates from New Jersey at the 1960 Democratic Jersey primaries in New Jersey.

Mainer was interested in the presidency but did not officially participate in the election; he hoped delegates could turn to him as their candidate if the convention came to a standstill between John F. Kennedy and Lyndon B. Johnson.

41 New Jersey delegates voted for Meiner in the first ballot.

In 1956, Miner officially remained neutral in the presidential race, although the governor winked and nodded to Estes Kefaver.

Kefaver won the optional primaries in New Jersey. The delegates were led by Miner, who went to the convention, still neutral, and as a result of the first vote delivered New Jersey to Adlai Stevenson.

Governor Alfred Driscoll initially supported Harold Stassen as president in 1948. Driscoll, who led the New Jersey delegates, shifted his support to Thomas Dewey, who defeated Stassen with a 41% -35% victory in the primaries.

In 1952, Driscoll supported Dwight D. Eisenhower as president. In New Jersey Eisenhower won a decisive victory on a primary basis with a score of 61% -36% over Robert Taft. This prompted a major Taffeta supporter from New Jersey, U.S. Sen. Robert Hendrickson, to side with him.

The governors of New Jersey supported incumbent leaders Lyndon Johnson (Hughes, 1964), Richard Nixon (William Cahill, 1972), and Ronald Reagan (Keane, 1984).

Source link

Previous articleFlorida man allegedly found strangled wife shot dead by police, officials say
Next articleNewsbook, February 23